School of Social Work USC
California Social Work Hall of Distinction

Contact Us

For more information contact:

Dr. Colleen Friend
Chair, Hall of Distinction
Director, Child Abuse and Family Violence Institute, California State University, Los Angeles

For assisting with financial support and making nominations into the California Social Work Hall of Distinction:

Katie Johnson
Manager, California Social Welfare Archives Programs

We encourage you to visit our associated site:

The California Social Welfare Archives

The California Social Work Hall of Distinction committee is comprised of social work leaders from universities and social work organizations throughout the state.

  • Frances S. Caple, Associate Dean Emerita, USC School of Social Work
  • Benjamin Cuellar, Professor and Dean Emeritus, California State University, Fresno
  • Suzanne Dworak-Peck, CSWA Board Member, Ambassador, International Federation of Social Workers
  • Manuel Fimbres, Professor Emeritus, San Jose State University
  • Colleen Friend (Chair), CSWA Board Member; California State University, Los Angeles
  • Kim Gaghagen, Social Services Director, Glenn County, retired
  • Esther Gillies, President, CSWA; USC School of Social Work, Clinical Associate Professor, retired
  • Anita Harbert, Professor Emeritus and former Director, San Diego State University
  • Jim Kelly, Past President, NASW-CA and NASW National
  • Nancy Lim-Yee, Program Director, Chinatown Child Development Center, San Francisco Department of Public Health, retired
  • Joseph Nunn, Professor Emeritus, UCLA Department of Social Welfare
  • Catharine Ralph, President-Elect NASW-CA, University of California, Berkeley
  • Janlee Wong, Executive Director, NASW-CA